subsidiary

this is the most action packed entry ever
2005-04-24

I don't have that much to do with my time as I am home, so I have been watching crap movies with my mother and attempting to read the books here, which all come from the Costco and therefore there is something of a limited selection. My mother buys all the Alexander McCall Smith novels and that is what is fresh off the Costco cart, I attempted to read one but I don't think I can do it anymore. This one is about Scottish people instead of Africans, so there isn't some sort of idiotic part every two pages where the characters think about how much they love Africa*, but it just makes it that much more of a really sub-sub-sub level Josephine Tey story. One of those mysteries where there isn't anything mysterious about it but instead it is a meditation on the moral quandaries of the human soul, in other words the detective can find out the exact personality of the other characters within two seconds of meeting them. This would seem to be a challenge but apparently the inhabitants of Scotland are only allowed one or two personality traits per person, and these are doled out on the basis of occupation and social class.

I don't know where I got all this hatred from, except that Alexander McCall Smith is posed against a tuba in the full-length author photo, and if I remember right he's wearing some sort of tweed get up. It makes me want to hit him with a stick.


Here's what I'm doing instead of reading, it's much more intellectual: Taking Web Quizzes!


It's like it saw into my very soul!

template by wicked design

diaryland

1