subsidiary

reading is fundamental!(ly stupid)
2005-08-21

After reading G.'s diary I've been getting a major case of academic envy. I've still been thinking about going back to school, and getting through half of Reading Lolita in Tehran today isn't helping matters. On one hand, I love to read, I'm good at writing papers, and I'm not very good at Actual Employment. On the other hand, I don't really want to become an academic and as I've gotten farther away from college, a lot of the theory that I was so into back then seems more and more like bullshit.

The thing that will probably seal it is that grad school costs money and I'm not particularly good with doing things with enjoyment as my motivation. Guilt is a lot better motivator, I've found.

If there was any way to keep learning in American society outside of language classes for sad people who have nothing else to do, I would do it, but since there's not I'll just let my brain rot, I suppose.

template by wicked design

diaryland

1