subsidiary

UH OH i suddenly got all self righteous
2005-09-01

God, I'm angry for no reason. At people who are "anti-U.S." which is bizarre as it usually takes a lot to rile me. As in, I'm not mad at Al-Jazeera or Ward Churchill or that guy who was the poet laureate of New Jersey (yes there was such a position). I'm just angry at people who want to justify not donating to the Red Cross or other U.S. charities because "there are so many other things I can do" such as writing letters to Congressmen who are in a totally different country than yours or giving to non-U.S. charities as there's other people who are worse off, you know
(if you have enough money to donate to one, why you can't donate to both is beyond me).

I can understand that you might not have money or even that you would not want to donate but CHRIST ON A CRUTCH there is no reason to announce to the world that you are not donating to relief funds because "the U.S. is rich enough already." Those people without houses or electricity or water sure look like they stepped right out of "Cribs," you fucktard.

I can even understand that you don't like the GOVERNMENT of the U.S., but you're giving to Sudan, and I assume you're not a big fan of those Janjaweed folk. If you don't trust the Red Cross, there are other organizations to give to (just not Operation Blessing, that all goes to Pat Robertson, STAY AWAY!) that provide U.S. aid. But I could tell you that ten thousand times and it wouldn't make a difference. I can tell.

Outside of the crazy Islamic fundie set (who are at least honest about how they feel, I'll give them that), I'm guessing that most people feel at least a bit sad about the terrible devastation. The ones who seem to want to act like holier-than-thou assholes coincidentally seem to be the same people who have prolonged nervous breakdowns when a pet dies or cannot manage to keep a bank balance at the age of 40 (maybe that's the reason they're so anti-charity, they don't want to admit they blew all their money on manga and Harry Potter gear). Yes, I know this is Portal of Evil type stereotyping but I just don't give a fuck. Anybody who bitches and moans about how they are being oppressed because somebody made fun of their slash fanfiction OMG HOMOPHOBE and then turns round to justify not giving money to help starving people... well, they're probably upset that the Sun doesn't revolve around their fat ass.

(Oh, and I've SEEN the "looter" vs. "residents" pic a thousand times. I'm impressed that you recognize that RACISM SUX! That certainly makes up for you not wanting to give 5 pounds/dollars/whatever to charity! How moral you are!)

Christ, I'm mad at people ON THE INTERNET. I think my mind is rotting.


Update! Apparently there is a good reason not to give from overseas - we won't take it out of pride. At least that's Bush's view, bitching about the countries that DARED offer aid. Of course if they didn't offer they would have been condemned as cheap leeches. See, if you help others, they'll help you, oh but I forgot, the important thing about giving is acting like you're oh-so-good for being charitable and expecting people to unconditionally love you like peons in return and not ever shatter your fantasy life of SUPREME POWER! I'm sure that when people are paying $5 for gas and whatever taxes will have to be put up to rebuild New Orleans they'll be OH SO HAPPY that Bush saved their American pride by making sure that they got to pay for every last cent.

(Eventually the administration relented - they will take up some offers. Surprise surprise, they will take money but only on the condition that they get to act like ungrateful assholes about it.)

OK, I'm done, I swear.

template by wicked design

diaryland

1