subsidiary

a or an universal?
2005-12-01

The diary above me has a banner that includes a horse rearing above a bolt of purple lightening. I clicked on it and apparently there is a large fanfiction audience for Final Fantasy games. I plan to write one starring "Rydia" and that dude with the mighty spear. I can remember everything that happened from beating the game when I was 9.

I also realized that everything that has made me mad in the past few days has had to do with either New York or (very slightly) with LA. I think what put me over the edge was looking at pictures of the Coen brothers having a party where there was an accordionist. How come I don't go to the cool parties. Nobody likes me.

I still have to buy Christmas presents though.


Am reading "Marie Antoinette" by Stefan Zweig, because I wanted to see how bad a book had to be for Sofia Coppola to reject it as "based on" material. It is surprisingly bad, not just because trends of thought have changed but because Zweig insists on laying on foreshadowing with a trowel. Approximately a quarter of the book goes into character analysis, another quarter into what Marie Antoinette and friends actually did, and the rest is all "yet the shallow Marie Antoinette stood in the shallows of history, unaware that she was about to be swept into events she could barely understand." The man wrote novels, which were apparently a universal signal for middle-brow-osity.

template by wicked design

diaryland

1