subsidiary

IT WAS YEEEEEW!
2005-06-19

I have very little to do except write a cover letter I'm not quite sure I want to write.

In response to G., I hate Lord Peter Wimsey. After reading one book, of course. He's like Batman, if Batman wasn't dark and broody but instead boring with a tendency to quote Latin which I have no way of understanding because it is a dead language. I don't know where I got that from, probably I was just thinking of Alfred the stately butler.

Wimsey is a bit smarter than Batman, though, because Batman's enemies were always garishly costumed or deformed so he really should have been able to find them a bit easier, while Wimsey had to search through the entire lower-class population of whereever he was, I'm betting. Although Batman villains were always hiding in their elaborate lairs, and Wimsey seems to be in an environment where there is convienently one swarthy low-class person hanging around, so wouldn't Batman actually be smarter?

In fact, why is Wimsey wasting his time solving these cases? They could all have been solved by a fat drunk Southern sheriff on his time off from trying to catch the Dukes of Hazzard. It would be like an all-white transatlantic version of "In the Heat of the Night," only about fifteen minutes long.

Wimsey: [explaining complicated physics theory involving Latin name of a plant]
Sheriff: [pointing at man with scruffy hat] It was yew booooy!
The End

I'm probably totally wrong about all of this because I've read one book. So maybe all the other murderers were respectable middle-class citizens who were secretly sleeping with their wives' sisters or cooking the company books. Or maybe there are large amounts of trashy people running around and Wimsey actually has to pick between two or three of them so it's hard for him to do. I'd find out but I'm too stupid to read books with large amounts of other languages in them if I'm not getting a shiny grade at the end, and that period of my life is over I'm afraid.

template by wicked design

diaryland

1