subsidiary

shut your mouth
2005-10-01

There's nothing more enjoyable than being with another person and saying something, then realizing that whatever you said had about as much impact on that person's brain as a dry Kleenex thrown against a wall. It would make sense if the other person was talking about their trip to Antarctica/ encounter with previously thought dead recluse/ self-amputated leg and I suddenly interrupted to talk about the paperwork I had to do today, but apparently I'm too dull to talk about my own paperwork and have to sit back and listen to other people talk about theirs.

It's odd, because I remember having conversations with people at some point in the past that had to do with books or politics or personal issues or movies or the state of humanity. You know, smart stuff. But lately I can only see myself as an exceptionally poor conversationalist who really should stop trying. Maybe I should join one of those silent nunneries so at least I can get points for not ever speaking instead of just feeling ignorant and ignored.

template by wicked design

diaryland

1