subsidiary

I need that coffee table so I can kick it Anita Brookner style
2006-01-15

Had two lovely evenings that socially required drinking large amounts of alcohol, culminating in me falling asleep on the subway and waking up at what I thought was Jay Street and turned out to be Avenue I, getting off in a panic at Avenue M, and waiting alone for the uptown train on a cold, snowy elevated platform at approximately 3 in the morning. I was terrified, despite the fact that nobody bothered me while I was asleep on the train, and nobody was going to purposely come up onto a freezing cold subway platform to check if there were stupid, drunken young women to rob. I think it was looking out over the rooftops and thinking how close I was to Brighton Beach, yet if by some chance I had slept all the way to Stillwell Avenue there wasn't anywhere I could go anymore. At some point the train came and I tucked myself into one of the corner seats and pulled my hood over my head and eventually got back to my stop, and when I got out there were still other drunken people wandering around. And I walked home and went to sleep.

All my friends have become wine experts. I am going to have to buy one of those "Wine for Dummies" books to catch up with them, only also with pretty pictures so I can put it on my coffee table, once I have a coffee table and some dusty lace curtains as well.

template by wicked design

diaryland

1